Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading the post about wives and how they help or hender our hunting. Well I am facing a situation regarding that right now and would like a little advice...Heres the situation.
I have been traveling to Ohio for the past 2 years with the same bunch of guys to bowhunt. The first year we went my hunting partner killed a 170+ P&Y buck! Last year we didnt score but we both saw some nice bucks and I saw one on the last evening that was pushing 150. I look forward to this hunt more than you could imagine. Being from SC this is really the only chance I have for killing a P&Y buck. Even if I dont, just being able to see those quality bucks is worth the trip and the licence. Well, this year my wife and I had our first child back in Feb. Due to having to take time off for that I didnt think I was going to be able to make the Ohio trip this year. My wife had already said she didnt care if I went if I could find a way to go. Anyway I had already told my buddies that I wasnt going to make it and I thought that was that. Well yesterday I was talking to a guy at work about it and he informs me that I could still take unpaid vacation days anytime I wanted. I approched my boss about it and she said it would be absolutely fine for me to take 3 unpaid vacation days along with the 3 vacation days I have left. As you can imagine I was pumped! So I go home and tell my wife about it, with the inticipation of calling my buds and telling them the great news. Well to put it mildly I never got to call my buds. My wife totally freaked out on me. She said she "didnt remember" ever telling me that she didnt care if I went. She ask when I would be gone and I stated the last week of Oct. Shes like, "thats great, miss her first Halloween" I really dont know what to do at this point. I feel like I am a good husband and I provide very well for my family. My wife had a good job bringing in a good salary an