Archery Talk Forum banner

When do bucks begin to grow their antlers?

38447 12
I am finally getting serious about hunting and i was wondering when bucks begin to grow or show signs of antler? I live in the south eastern U.P about an hour west of the thumb. i want to start scouting early but i also want to get a feel of what my buck to doe ratio is after this last hunting season. All info is welcome...Thanks.

Brad
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1,083 Posts
as soon as the old ones fall off they start storing the nutrients for to produce the new ones

· Registered
560 Posts
here is what I'm starting to learn from my trail cams around NW Oregon: The bucks shed anytime between late December and early March and they grow these nubs about an inch or so long just a short time after shedding (just a few weeks). Those nubs stay just like that until around mid or late May or so and then they start really growing fast. Keep in mind I am pretty new to all this and it's hard to tell for sure which bucks are which in my tc pics. If you ask me this same question in a couple more months I'll know alot more hopefully.
DS

· Registered
28,629 Posts
length of days is the controlling factor as when antlers start to sprout. Typically about the 15 of April here in the Midwest. Some may start 2 weeks earlier some may start 2 weeks later. The food sources are very week of nutrients before things green up. If the bucks were to start too early the antler growing nutrients would be robbed from their bone structure, instead of using food nutrients. Mother Nature kind of controls this nicely.

· Registered
530 Posts
In my part of Ohio, you can usually start seeing or noticing signs of antler growth around the beginning or middle part of May.

· Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·