Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to crossbows, and have come up with a simple question.

When do you cock your crossbow when hunting? I hunt in various situations including: climbers, ground blinds, and ladder stands. Do you cock your bow and climb in a climber without the arrow in place (is that safe)? Or do you cock it once you have climbed up in the stand (is that hard to do)? In the mornings, do you cock the bow at the well lit camp and get on the four wheeler, cock it at the stand with a flash light, or wait until daylight to cock it? Also when do you shoot/unload the bow (especially in the evening)? Do you shoot it into the ground and look for your arrow with a flashlight or do you climb down and then shoot it?

I have hesitated to post this seemingly basic question, due to sounding dumb or listing unsafe hunting actions, but I simply don't know. I just wanted to get some feedback from some people who have done it before.

Thanks

·
Registered
167 Posts
I cock mine when I am ready to shoot. That said ,I do not hunt out of portable or climbers with a crossbow. Good luck Phil

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
I cock the crossbow at the truck then I go a 100 yards then put the arrow in and hunt from there to my tree stand then take the arrow out and climb up the tree stand and pull the crossbow up and put the arrow in and I'm ready to hunt from the tree stand. When I'm done hunting I shoot a different arrow into a hill.

·
Registered
10,684 Posts
I cock it at the truck before I walk in..
Same for me. :)
I cock and load it at the truck too, carry it to my treestand, remove the arrow, hoist the bow into my treestand, and reload the arrow.
Since my Scorpyd bow has a virtually failsafe dryfire mechanism without an arrow, I don't worry about it dryfiring while I'm hoisting it up with my rope.