Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used one before but i figure its time for my wifes sake. I usually hunt out of my 16 foot ladder stands or my Gorilla climber. One of my ladder stands and my climber have a shooting rail that makes me feel safe. I feel especially safe in my climber. But i found a used HSS treestalker for 40 bucks and am gonna get it i think. Do you guys even year them in your climbers? Do you wait tillm8 get up the tree to strap it on? How would you use it when climbing? Again, never used one before. Thanks for all advice.

·
Registered
643 Posts
I bought one last season and wore it everyday I went out. Ladder stands and hang on stands. I don't have climbers but would assume you'd strap it on when you get to the height you want to be.

·
Registered
316 Posts
I use mine every time I go out. When I use my climber I hook up at the base of the tree and move the strap up as I go. Most of my close calls have been when I was climbing up or down.

·
Registered
3,544 Posts
I do the same as dmax if you think you will never fall then you need to think again because sooner or later it will happen

·
Registered
2,310 Posts
Tie your safty line to the tree from the ground , clip in & climb. You move it up with you as you go, this way you are connected from the time you leave the dirt till you return. This way you wont take the quick way down !

In a ladder or a hangon you can connect a lifeline & a prussic knot to clip into & climb that way using the same prinipals ,moving it up as you climb. Stay safe ,No deer is worth your life,Why risk it ?

·
Registered
28,125 Posts
My harness is on before I even step foot on the climber. I'm attached to the tree from the moment I get on the platform to start climbing up to and including when I get back on the ground at the end of the hunt. I am never not connected.

·
Registered
36,982 Posts