Archery Talk Forum banner

When to draw?

816 Views 16 Replies 16 Participants Last post by  LetThemGrow
I've been bow-hunting for about 6 yrs and have killed some deer but the mistake I've made more than any other is to draw too late or even too soon. What determines when you guys pull back?
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2,477 Posts
First chance I can undetected.... Thats the hardest part somtimes,heck somtimes deer walk right by without ever giving me a chance,especially under 5 yards:wink:
+1 wait til it seems like you'll get a shot soon and the deer isn't apying attention. I've also drawn back with deer staring at me and they just kept staring and got shot. depends on whether they sense something is wrong or not. make sure you can draw back smooth and slow, not all crazy herky jerky

· Registered
449 Posts
I try to draw as soon as the deer passes a tree or a bush. or if it turns it's head in the other direction:rock-on::rock-on:

· Registered
2,313 Posts
The first chance I get when no eyes are looking my way. Whether the deer is moving towards me or just milling around usually at some point youll get the needed moment, sometimes maybe not then just draw in one fluid motionquickly settle the pin and shoot. that has worked for me as well.

good luck

· Registered
5,351 Posts
First chance the deer can't see me. Usually behind a bush,tree or when the head turns. If there is no cover I will draw when the animal is on the move. I find it just a little harder for them to pick you out when moving then still. If they stop, you better hold still and be ready to shoot!

· Hunt Fair Chase
2,598 Posts
At the first opportunity you can do so undetected. I agree that this can be one of the most difficult parts of bowhunting whitetails. You just never know how long you're going to be a full draw. :)

This, to me, is one of the defining reasons why so many bowhunters don't support crossbow hunting. "When to draw" is taken out of the equation. :darkbeer:

Reactions: jboyce23