Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
8,290 Posts
pretty good,
im a huge fan of MGRS over Lat/long coordinates.

if anyone has questions, i have 10 years navigation experience using MGRS. navigating is a huge tool when your a hunter. especially if you hunt rugged big terrain. after you learn the basics, i would say the next thing you need to do is learn to read topo lines.

this guys explains how to get from point A to point B but what if there is a huge cliff or some other obstacle on your route. almost never can you walk a straight line to where your going, if you can read topo lines you can plan your route.

·
Registered
353 Posts
I was briefly into Orienting, navigating terrain with a compass and map.
I am still surprised how many I hunt with don't know north from south and which direction we are headed. My girlfriend uses On Star to go to the store!

·
Former Wyoming Boy
8,664 Posts
Tagged
I need to brush up on this stuff again... Alaskan moose in 2017.
Easy to get rusty if you don't use it.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Good stuff
Gritty Bowmen podcast has Arraon Snyder on to talk about navigating
He gets very in depth, give it a watch it helped me a lot

·
Back down to ground level
16,304 Posts
pretty good,
im a huge fan of MGRS over Lat/long coordinates.

if anyone has questions, i have 10 years navigation experience using MGRS. navigating is a huge tool when your a hunter. especially if you hunt rugged big terrain. after you learn the basics, i would say the next thing you need to do is learn to read topo lines.

this guys explains how to get from point A to point B but what if there is a huge cliff or some other obstacle on your route. almost never can you walk a straight line to where your going, if you can read topo lines you can plan your route.