Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to archery talk, so i'll make this short and sweet. Last year I shot a decent eight-pointer. The shot angle was pretty extreme because I was about 20 feet up and he was about 12yds. The shot didn't look that bad, maybe just a little high. When I retrieved the arrow, it had a greasy film on it, like you shot it through a bucket of crisco. There was ample blood. I trailed for 300 yds. and lost the blood trail. I spent several hours the next day looking but had no luck. :thumbs_do Any ideas where I might have hit him?

·
Registered
9,143 Posts
Assuming you shot just behind the front shoulder on a broadside shot my guess would be that you took out only one lung. This happens on extreme shot angle shots a lot more than people realize. They think they got both lungs. If you are pretty sure you hit both but track the deer over 100 yards, back off and wait a few hours before following up on the trail. A one lung hit deer once jumped can travel a long ways before bedding again.

·
Registered
2,578 Posts
If you hit him high, you possibly only got one lung, and the arrow probably came out the brisket, but I would have thought you should have gotten both lungs at 12 yards. I've had this happen, but with the deer a lot closer. I shot a buck through one lung a couple of years ago, and he went over 800 yards...there was snow one the ground, and he bled pretty good, without the snow he would have been really tough to find.

·
Registered
5 Posts
high angle