Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok Newbie bowhunter here. I am just getting into archery and bow hunting and bought a used HCA bow from my buddy just to get me started. Its ok for now but I know i want to get something nicer for next years hunting season. Questions is what stinkin bow to pick.... I dont want to spend more that $500 if possible and lets face it, im a new archer, I really dont need the super duper fastest crazy high end bow at this point in my bow hunting career. Just a good solid bow that will shoot well and not break the bank. And I have NO CLUE what brand bows are good, bad, ones to avoid. What features to look for, what type of cam to get or any of the other multitude of gizmos i see on the market... I plan on using it to hunt deer and elk mostly. Thanks in advance for any help....

·
Registered
438 Posts
as far as all the questions regarding the technical side of a bow, i'll pm you a website that goes through all the details. way to much to post here. as far as a solid choice for a bow i'd say bear archery produces bows with great value just meaning your getting a lot of bow for the money. their mauler for instance is one heck of a shooter for the price. single cam bows offer a certain amount of ease as fewer adjustments are needed after it is set up. mathews also offers single cam bows but you pay for them. to be honest, most of the manufacturers offer high quality bows. the more you pay, the quieter, lighter, faster, smoother and more solid it will be.

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
The only way to select a bow for YOU is to decide how much you are willing to spend then go to every shop you can get to and shoot every bow in that price range. All bows will feel different based on geometry, cam style, axle to axle, materials used, grip, etc etc etc. You MUST shoot them all and pic the one that feels best to YOU.