Archery Talk Forum banner

Which draw weight?

845 13
So I am a complete beginner and need some help deciding on a draw weight.

I check out a local shop and the guy measured me and said my length was between 29.5" and 30." He gave me some bows to try and I felt like 65-67 pounds wasn't too much trouble for me and I could repeatedly draw that. Should I get 60 or 70 pound limbs? I would think 70 and could adjust down a few lbs if needed? What about a bow that has 80 pound limbs? Would adjusting those down to 70 be ok? If I can draw it now, it should get easier with practice, right?

Finally, is there any negatives to having a higher draw weight besides the difficulty?

Thanks!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
264 Posts
Here's my opinion. First, I don't know how big a guy you are, but it sounds like you could handle the 70# limbs just fine if you are drawing 65-67 lbs with ease. But......given that you have a long draw length, you should not have much problem getting good speed at lower draw weights. My draw length is about the same as yours and I can handle 65# just fine, but I shoot around 57# year round (tournaments and hunting). Max speed for the tournaments I shoot is 280fps +or- 3% and I achieve that with the arrows I shoot at 57# so I don't need any more draw weight. For hunting (whitetails) I like the same weight. I can draw my bow slow and smooth from any position and I feel like it is all the weight I need. Also, I think I am more accurate at 57# than I am at 65#. Some will argue that more lbs will be a big plus if you make a marginal shot (shoulder). I would argue (for me) more lbs increases the likelyhood of making a marginal shot. Also, I prefer to shoot a 60# limb cranked down to or near max over a 70# limb backed out. Seems a little quieter and more efficient. FWIW, I have two 60# bows and one 70#. All are set on 57#.

How much below the limb max you can go down to depends on the bow and how you have it set up. Most times I would say 10-12 lbs less.