Votes: 26 44.1%
  • commander

Votes: 33 55.9%
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which of these 2 bows would you prefer for a 3d shoot (no range finder!)?

82nd airborne with its blazing speed?
Commander with its added brace height and forgiveness?

·
Transplant from Dakota
1,523 Posts
IBO or ASA? other?

Bill

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
IBO or ASA? other?

Bill
Bill, I'm fairly new to the sport and dont really know the difference. The only thing I know is that you must use an 8x or weaker binocs (I heard 8.5?), and no range finders. Also, I know that depending on the style of sight it could change the class? Could you compare and contrast these 2?

FWIW, I shoot fixed sights with a release.

·
Registered
11,666 Posts
I would not want to drag a press and a whole stack of limbs around to keep the 82nd going.And yes ive owned the 82nd so I know.:darkbeer:

·
Transplant from Dakota
1,523 Posts
Main diff. besides the classes is ASA has a 280fps speed limit, where as in IBO you can go as fast as you want as long as you maintain 5 grains per pound of draw weight. ex. 300 grain= 60#.

Also. no problems with the 82nd. IMO

Bill

·
Registered
11,666 Posts

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Main diff. besides the classes is ASA has a 280fps speed limit, where as in IBO you can go as fast as you want as long as you maintain 5 grains per pound of draw weight. ex. 300 grain= 60#.

Also. no problems with the 82nd. IMO

Bill
ah, i'd choose a commander then if its 280 fps limit. would be silly not to i'd think?

·
Registered
5,536 Posts
i take the commander or my guardian over the 82nd. that just be a fast miss for me :).

Bill

·
Registered
5,536 Posts
well the commander is my 3D rig. right now she is all in pieces sitting in the garage. i have it all strip down to bare metal. gonna get it powder coated for next season. oh love my guardian it's my hunting rig too.

Bill

·
Registered
24,957 Posts