Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing around with my bow setup recently and have noticed that with a quiver, 10 inch stabilizer and sight attached I get a lot of torque issues. Recently I started shooting without the stabilizer and only the top portion of the two piece quiver on and noticed that my torque issues have almost gone away, is this normal? Do I really need a stabilizer? The only time I've noticed it making a big difference is when it's windy outside, and even then the difference is marginal. Just curious if anyone else shoots without one or with a small offset one like j-daddy had set up on his old vector turbo.

·
Banned
2,992 Posts
What I need when I'm practicing in perfect conditions during a relaxing afternoon is very different from what I need in a hunting situation.

·
Former Wyoming Boy
8,664 Posts
The stabilizer doesn't reduce hand torque. It's primary function is to steady the bow at full draw by adding mass weight.
The bow becomes even more steady when you get the weight out away from the bow, toward the end of the stabilizer... kind of the same principle as the long pole a tight-rope walker uses.
The 2nd function it has is... forcing the bow to react to the shot the same way every time. To fall dead away, instead of twisting at the release.
The third... some are made to absorb noise. Most people use these kind for hunting... including me.
The torque you're getting is probably caused by having things attached to the side of your bow.
The only way to fight it is to take that quiver off or use a V bar with more weight on the opposite side to counteract the quiver.
On some bows, even the mounting brackets for your sight and rest are enough to tilt the bow to that side at full draw.
I use a hip quiver for just this reason.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Good point. When your shaking from adrenalin, you'll want that stabilizer. Try taking a jog then shoot your bow with and without.

·