Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read several...several...and more -- posts disproving the scentlok and scentblocker material. I have also seen several articles that show the science of why these materials work.

I for one don't know what to believe. I don't think I am a stupid person, but at the same time I am no chemical engineer.

So to get to the subject of my post. I wonder if there is a way that we could do some sort of a "ArcheryTalk" experiment this season. I'm sure there are several members of the forum that use the clothing. ( I for one will be for the first time this season ) I wonder if we log our deer encounters online in this forum on a single thread? Did we get busted? Did we have deer downwind? Then follow up by documenting what you did for scent control that day...(shower, scent killing spray, reactivated your suit, what not)

Maybe we could come up with some conclusion by the end of the season. I know it will probably not be the most scientific study...too many variables, but maybe we could come up with some competent conclusion.

Maybe this is a good idea... maybe not? What do you all think? I haven't read any study like this... I think this would be a great read for anyone that is debating buying the clothing.

·
Registered
379 Posts
I think this is a great idea. But like you said, the variables may get us. Ex..all of us don't have the same pre-hunt home scent care(showering pre-hunt, washing camo etc...)

But if the stuff really works then maybe you don't need all the pre-hunt precautions. :confused:

·
Registered
8,359 Posts
We're not saying that activated carbon doesn't work...it does work. Very very well in fact, too well as a matter of fact. We're just saying that by the time it leaves the store that it's already full...and all the science articles you read talk about the method required to re activate the molecules to allow it to work again.