Archery Talk Forum banner

why feathers over plastic fletch

797 Views 12 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  jetthelooter
Im new to traditional shooting but not to building my own arrows. The one thing I know is I cant use Blazer vanes . I will be getting a Bear 48 manum on trade this week and plan on shooting 31 inch 2219's the bow is 55lbs at 28 inches so I think I'm in the right arrow range my question is given the durabillity of plastic fletching are feathers that important or is there no real difference . also I will fletching with a right twist is there any difference in 4 or 5 inch vanes thanks for any imput.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· saskarcher
5,124 Posts
why feathers over plastic fletch
it traditional ;) jk

plastic vanes shoot well off a rest while feathers are used if you shoot off the shelf.
5" vanes will better stabilize that heavy shaft(which are way overspined for that poundage) put a heavy tip on and maybe they will work

· One crazy Mutant ;)
9,084 Posts
I'll let you know up front, some one will say you're over bowed if you are new to traditional archery gear, I found out the hard way & am now using a 45# Grizzly but am working my way up, tis up o you my friend.

As far as arrows go, you look to be in the right ball park of spine & am looking at a decent weight.

The Feather are more forgiving than Vanes especially for finger shooting off the shelf like I do where contact is inevitable.

tpoof:
I was bassing my spine calculations on a 150gr. point & a 31" shaft.

· Registered
175 Posts
I shoot off the shelf on all 4 of my bows, and vanes don't work for me at all. While feathers can compress over the shelf, vanes push off against the shelf and shoot erratically in my experience. If you use a rest, even a flipper rest, vanes can work for you.

· Registered
22,135 Posts
Wolf -

A 29" 2219 spines in the 85 - 95# range and at 31", about 10# less - your call.