Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am kinda new to archery and I heard that a long axle/axle is better for
3D target shooting. Why is that?

·
Registered
6,216 Posts
More stable aiming/shooting up and down. Longer BH helps with left/right. The longer it is, the harder it is to move during/after the shot, making it more forgiving.

·
Registered
3,092 Posts
The longer the bow, the more stable/steady it will be in your hand. Same principal as if you try to balance a broom stick length wise on you finger tip, the longer it is, the easier you will balance it.

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Convensional wisdom says that these longer bows are heavier so that makes them more stable. A body at rest tends to remain at rest.The length offers rotational resistance,much like the tight rope walker using a 20 ft. poll VS an umbrella.The longer length creates a more shallow string angle that allows you to hold your head up straight instead of a steep angle that you have to lean yout head into.That intern will affect your balance and overall form.
Bows still need t be kept in scale with your body size.
I like bows in the 38 to 42 in range.I am 5ft. 9 in. I tried a 46 in bow and found no benifit from it.
One of the archery pros on here posted a rough formula stating a range of ATA lengths to personal hight before.
Maybe someone here might be able to access that info.
I hope that helps.

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
There is one point that I never actually see stated and it's a big part of the WHY. Mathamatically a longer line is easier to accuratly align. My spelling errors aside. if the shorter bow is canted 1/16 inch off the vertical axis at the top it is more degrees off line than the longer bow is. It's easier to be accurate for much of this reason.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I hunt also so, I need sumthing that will fit in a small ground blind. Is 35" long enough?

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
good stuff guys