Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
322 Posts
i first stared with a recurve shooting aluminum arrows. then i moved on to self bows, and now im ordering some wooden shafts to make my own arrows. it really depends on what yo want. im buying sitka spruce shafts, cause it known for its strength and durability, its one of the superior arrow woods.

if u get the wood ones remember to properly seal the shaft so no moisture can get it, or else it can rot or warp. and if the arrow splits it can easily be repaired too by raping it with sinew or something.
also what kind of bow u shootng?

·
Premium Member
5,344 Posts
I started shooting wood arrows several years ago because it was a requirement to shoot in the longbow class at some tournaments. Now, I just like them. They have their own personality, much like a bow, and seem to be quieter and more forgiving (that may just be in my head).

I've shot fir, spruce, maple, Norwegian pine, Lodgepole pine, chundoo, ash, and probably several others I can't recall at the moment. I always wind up going back to Port Orford Cedar (POC).

Getting quality shafts makes a BIG difference, regardless of the wood. I think the best wood in the world could be made into a really crappy shaft. Straight, tight grain and very few grain runouts are what you are looking for. Consistent weight and spine are a must for consistent accuracy--spine moreso than weight IMO, at least at closer (hunting) distances. Hand spined is better than machine spined--the machine doesn't know or care which way the shaft falls into the trough. Most folks that hand spine will spine each shaft the same way--either with or against the grain (usually against). You will need to put your nocks on the same way. Rogue River Archery put a little dot on their shafts to indicate how it was spined, and which way you need to glue the nock on. I glue mine on so the string is against the grain.