Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to this sport and was just wanting some feed back from everyone one how they go about getting yardage when they come up to a target.

:zip:

·
Banned
3,502 Posts
yards

Just my 2 worth, but when I started years ago I shot and studied 20,30,40,50,60 at the practice butts. After that I would just walk through the woods and pick out trees at 20, then at 30 and so on. It takes a while but you will get good at it. Another was to step in the woods guess and then take a range finder to see if your right. I did not do this at a shoot just to get good at judging yardage. I do not even own a pair of rangefinders now. Not to toot my own horn but most of my friends tell me I am that my judging is excellant :D On the other hand my spelling lacks :sad:

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
I like to pick out landmarks and figure distance from point to point. Or divide distance by half, then half again til you come up with a manageable number. Do both to double check each other. And a fast shooter will help too.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I've always been pretty good at judging distances from 0-40 yards but when it gets to be beyond 40 i have a really hard time with it for some reason. But a trick i used to do to my friends was when we'd be at a shoot with lots of ppl and the group ahead of us was always a little slower was i'd bet them how many steps it would be to the target and then i'd count the other groups steps on the way back. Needles to say i was always right ;).

·
Registered
4,883 Posts
Learning to judge accurately at 20, 30, 40 yards, etc, is one way to begin; however, it is not a very accurate way all by itself. Most setups will take the ground away from you and then terrain judging is at best a guess.